

# Ara Taiohi Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Tuesday 18th October 2022 Ngāti Tamaoho Trust 128 Hingaia Road, Karaka 2580

## **Attendees present (In-person)**

Ann Dunphy Briarley Birch Charlie Eggleton Joy Eaton Kahukura Ritchie Raelene Hoogeveen Sarah Guy Vyaan Kakau-Leef Nanny Teiarere Helen Waiata Ngataha

#### **Attendees present (online)**

Chillion Saneviri Henry Langi Chris McIvor Hannah Dunlop Jane Hughson Jo Lane Jordy Gastmeier Kev Carter Lesley D'Mello Nikki Hurst **Richard Chambers** Sakhr Munassar Sarah Finlay-Robinson Sela Faletolu-Fasi Steph Brook Toia Chase Vicki Beachen

#### 1. Meeting opened.

The Ara Taiohi AGM was formally opened with karakia tīmatanga at 10:40am by Mātua Ted from Ngāti Tamaoho – Kaumatua ō tērā iwi.

#### 2. Formal AGM begins

Matekino Marshall, Co-Chair of the Ara Taiohi Board, was introduced and gave an overview of the agenda.

It was noted that minutes would be recorded by Tyler Ngatai and the online facilitator would be



managed by Zara Maslin

It was noted that by registering for the AGM, all names would be recorded as in attendance for the 2022 AGM, in-person and online.

# 3. Apologies

Apologies receieved: Rod Baxter – The Princes Trust Whaea Elizabeth Kerekere – Green Party MP Karen Ross – Duke of Edinburgh's Hillary Award Fran McEwan – Sport New Zealand Joanah Phillips – Western Institute of Technology Taranaki Fiona Bryan – Empowerment Trust Colin Eriksen – Youth One Stop Shop Chloe Bisley-Wright – Treaty Action Collective Pōneke Fay Amaral – Youthtown Brendon Crompton – Bluelight New Zealand Joshua Tabour – Scouts New Zealand Annabel Prescott – Anamata Café

# Josie Ogden Schroeder / Karina Nepia – Carried

## 4. Minutes

The minutes of the previous AGM held on **Wednesday 20 October 2021** were considered for acceptance. No comments or amendments were added to the minutes and there were no matters arising.

Motion that the minutes of the 2021 AGM be taken as read and accepted as a true and correct record of the meeting

#### Charlie Eggleton / Raelene Hoogeven – Carried

#### 5. Reports

Jane Zintl delivered the CEO report for the 2021-2022 financial year. It was noted that this year's annual report key projects for the 2021-2022 year included:

The Ara Taiohi Board, three Ropū (Te Ngākau Kahukura, Korowai Tupu, and INVOLVE), and staff were acknowledged for their work during the period.

Motion that the 2021/22 Annual Report be received

#### Matekino Marshall/ Zachariah Hardy– Carried

The financial report for 2021-2022 was delivered by Josie, member of the Finance And Risk Committee and Ara Taiohi Board member. Highlights from the financial report include Ara Taiohi receiving an unqualified audit, growth across all memberships, and financial growth. It was acknowledged that the current surplus is predominantly tagged as funds in advance to support ongoing projects.



Motion that the 2021/22 Financial Report be received

## Josie Ogden Schroeder/ Briarley Birch- Carried

Motion that Moore Markhamsbe appointed as the auditor for the 2022/2023 financial year Matekino Marshall/ Briarley Birch - Carried

## 6. Constitutional changes

It was noted that at the 2021 AGM, a Constitutional review was announced to update the Ara Taiohi Constitution for the first time since 2016. The first tranch of proposed changes were noted as included with the AGM information sent to all members. As a member of the Constitutional Subcommittee, Josie Ogden Schroeder spoke to the proposed constitutional changes and the process that had been followed. No questions or comments were raised.

Motion that the 2023 Ara Taiohi Constitutional changes be accepted

Raelene Hoogeveen / Zara Maslin – Carried

# 7. Announcement of Korowai Tupu Ropū members

Votes were confirmed by scrutineers.

It was acknowledged that two voting processes were announced for the 2022 re announced for the 2022 AGM. FOr the Korowai Tupu rōpū, three nominations were received for three positions. As all nominees met the criteria for the Rōpū positions, all three were automatically confirmed onto the Rōpū Thanks to all candidates who stood for the Board and Rōpū were noted. The three Korowai Tupu Rōpū members were confirmed as:

Charlie Eggleton,

Rae Hoogeveen, and Isabel Lemanutau.

# 8. Announcement of new Ara Taiohi Board members

It was noted that two positions were open for the Ara Taiohi Board, and that terms for these positions were two years.

It was noted that the Election Runner programme would be used to collect and tally votes, and that results woul be confirmed by two scrutineers. Thanks to the online voting system, voting had begun the day prior to the AGM, and would close approximately 20 minutes after all nominees had shared.

Three nominations were accepted for the Ara Taiohi Board roles. Each nominee was given a short speaking slot to introduce themselves and detail why they had chosen to stand as a nominee.



## 9. Guest Speaker – Judge Eiver

Judge Eivers - Te Kaikōmihana mō ngā Tamariki ō Aotearoa, Commissioner for Children was introduced. Her Honour Judge Frances Eivers (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato) is our current Children's Commissioner, taking on the role from 1 November 2021. Before being appointed Commissioner, she was a Judge in the District Court in Manukau, working extensively with mokopuna in the court system. She has worked as a lawyer in Auckland, Whakatāne, London and Tauranga. In New Zealand, she practised mainly in the Family, Youth and Criminal courts, including working as a lawyer for children and as a youth advocate.

Judge Eivers shared about the mahi of the Commission, and the current challenges facing taiohi.

## 10. Kaiparahuarahi - Whai Wahitanga

Kaiparahuarahi announced and Kahurangi Richie explained the content and process for collation. Acknowledgment to Tokararangi Poi who designed the Tukutuku panels throughout the journal and koha was gifted.

## 11. New Board members appointed

Votes were confirmed by scrutineers. Thanks to all candidates who stood for the Board were noted. The two Ara Taiohi Board members were confirmed as: Chillion Sanerivi Josie Ogden Schroeder

#### 12. Kaihautū Acknowledgement

Acknowledgement of Matekino Marshall as the Kaihautū was noted for the mahi that he contributed to, for the past 10 years. Matekino stood down as the Co-Chair of the Ara Taiohi Board.

It was announced that Ngā Kaihoe Kaiarahi Rōpū have appointed Raniera Pene as the new Kaihautū.

#### 13. General Business

It was noted that Ara Taiohi would continues to undergo a constitutional review during the 2022-2023 year; a sub-committee of the Board would review the constitution and look at Board make-up (including numbers), representation and membership. If any people were interested in being part of this review, they were encouraged to get in contact.



There was no other business to be raised. The meeting was concluded with thanks to the Ara Taiohi staff for their efforts throughout the year, and for the organisation of the AGM. The meeting was closed with a karakia from Raniera Pene at 12:10pm.

Signed as a true and correct record:

Josie Ogden Schroeder, Co-Chair, Ara Taiohi Board Date: 15/11/2022